Emory Healthcare named Official Team Healthcare Provider of Atlanta Braves

Atlanta Braves & Emory Helathcare

The Atlanta Braves announced a new medical partnership that names Emory Healthcare as the Official Team Healthcare Provider of the Braves.

The partnership provides the Atlanta Braves with comprehensive and seamless state-of-the-art medical care. This includes access to Emory’s world class Sports Medicine, Orthopaedics, and Spine Center physicians and more. The partnership also provides the Braves access to Emory’s sports science research and performance measurement expertise at the new Emory Sports Medicine Complex in Brookhaven, opening fall 2017.

“We are thrilled to develop this relationship with Emory Healthcare,” said John Hart, Braves president, baseball operations. “This agreement is very important to our club and will help us to continue to provide the best possible healthcare to our players and staff.”

“Everyone at Emory is very excited to play a role in helping the Braves organization perform at the highest level,” said Scott D. Boden, MD, director of Emory Orthopaedics & Spine Center. “Today, caring for professional athletes requires seamless integration of all medical needs in addition to musculoskeletal care, and Emory is honored to be trusted with this responsibility for the Braves organization,” said Jonathan S. Lewin, MD, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Emory Healthcare.

As part of the partnership, Emory Healthcare will be opening an outpatient orthopaedics clinic in Smyrna, Ga., giving Braves players and staff easy access to evaluations, treatment and high-quality imaging.

The Emory Sports Medicine physicians who will provide care for the Braves are: John Xerogeanes, MD, director of Emory Sports Medicine Center, along with physicians Kyle Hammond, Spero Karas, Jonathan Kim, Lee Kneer, Scott Maughon, Ken Mautner, and Jeff Webb. They join the Braves medical staff roster, which includes Head Team Physician Gary M. Lourie, MD, and returning physicians Marvin Royster, Tim Griffith, Jeff Hoadley, and Brooks Lide.